As the former District Attorney in charge of prosecuting all DWIs in Collin County for over 20 years, and a former Police Officer, we know how the other side is thinking and can best evaluate your case.
We assist with JAIL RELEASE, call us today!Collin County DWI Attorneys - Plano Based for over 25 Years
If you have been charged with a DWI/DUI in Texas, you should take these charges seriously. If it’s your first, second or fifth DWI arrest, you should strongly consider hiring a DWI lawyer to defend you. Even a first-time Texas DWI offense can have a profound effect on your career and your life and subsequent arrests even more so — and you can be arrested even if your blood alcohol concentration was below the .08 legal limit.
People charged with a DWI have rights, and if you’re convicted of a DWI offense, the potential consequences you experience may include:
- A jail sentence
- Costly fines and court fees
- A permanent public criminal record
- Loss of your driver’s license
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
- Requirement to take an alcohol education course
- Increased car insurance rates
- Damage to your reputation in the community
- Loss of your job
- Effects on your professional license if you’re a lawyer, doctor, nurse, pharmacist, or other type of state-licensed professional
It’s also important to understand that in Texas, you can’t get a DWI conviction expunged from your record. You can only get an expungement if your case is dismissed, charges were declined, you received a deferred disposition, or you were found not guilty.
That’s why it’s critical that you consult with a skilled DWI defense attorney if you’ve been arrested or charged with driving while intoxicated. As a former prosecutor and a criminal defense attorney for more than 20 years, attorney J.L. Pierce can ask the right questions to help protect your rights and build a strong case designed to get your charge dismissed or reduced so that you can minimize or avoid the consequences of a conviction.Let an Experienced DWI Lawyer Determine if You Have a Valid Defense
People often assume they have no defense against a DUI/DWI charge. Like any other case, the prosecution has the burden to prove the defendant's guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Let us ask the right questions on your behalf:
- Did the police have a valid reason to stop your vehicle?
- Did the police have sufficient cause to make an arrest?
- If you are being charged with a second, third, or subsequent offense, were there legal grounds to challenge the sufficiency of your prior convictions?
- Was the breathalyzer machine calibrated properly?
Charged with DWI? About to lose your driver's license? We handle all misdemeanor and felony DWI charges as well as driver's license matters including suspensions and occupational licenses. Call (972) 423-0331 for help or contact a DWI lawyer online.Types of Texas DWI Offenses
Texas law treats the offense of driving while intoxicated seriously and imposes mandatory jail sentences, driver’s license suspensions, and other consequences if you’re convicted. The more times you’re convicted, the more severe the penalties become. Penalties also are enhanced under particular circumstances, such as having a BAC above .15, having a child in the car, or being a driver under 21.
- First DWI — A first DWI conviction is typically a misdemeanor crime that can be punished with a jail sentence, fines, and a driver’s license suspension. Learn more about the possible consequences of a first Texas DWI conviction.
- Second DWI — A second DWI can result in serious penalties including up to 1 year in jail, thousands of dollars in fines, and loss of your driver’s license for up to 2 years. Learn more about the effects of a second Texas DWI conviction.
- Third or Subsequent DWI — You may face felony penalties when you’re convicted of a third or subsequent Texas DWI offense. Learn how Ned Barnett can help you reduce or avoid the effects of multiple DWI convictions.
- Underage DUI — Texas takes a harsh approach to drivers under 21 who are suspected of driving under the influence. In fact, a person under 21 is guilty of DUI if they have “any detectable” amount of alcohol in their system. This is a zero tolerance statute. A minor can be guilty even if an officer claims to smell alcohol on their breath. Learn more about how underage drivers are penalized for DUI.
- DWI with a Child Passenger — When you’re charged in Texas with driving while intoxicated with a child under 15 years of age in your vehicle, you face enhanced penalties if convicted. Learn more about the consequences of being convicted of a DWI with a child passenger.
- Drugged Driving — The definition of driving while intoxicated in Texas includes driving while your faculties are impaired by drugs. Learn more about how Texas penalizes drugged driving.
- Intoxicated Manslaughter and Assault — It’s a very serious offense to injure or kill someone when you’re driving while intoxicated. Learn more about the consequences of an intoxicated assault or manslaughter conviction and why you need a top-notch DWI lawyer on your side.
If you’ve been charged with DWI in Collin County or the surrounding area, you likely have many questions — especially if this is your first arrest or encounter with the local criminal courts. J.L. Pierce offers personalized service and constant communication about your case, including straightforward explanations of the steps in the process and what you should expect from your case.
Some common topics that Pierce discusses with people charged with DWI include:
- Effects of a DWI Conviction— You probably know that a DWI conviction can result in jail time, fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and other statutory penalties. However, there are consequences that you may not anticipate. Learn more about some of the unexpected effects of a DWI conviction.
- Out-of-State Drivers and Houston DWI — Texas is a magnet for all kinds of tourists and business travelers. When you visit from another state and are arrested for DWI, you may be worried about defending yourself in a Houston court. Learn more about the possible penalties for a DWI conviction, how they may affect your driver’s license at home, and how Houston DWI lawyer Ned Barnett can help.
- Texas Legal Limit — The legal limit for intoxication in Texas is a blood alcohol concentration of .08. Learn what this limit means and how it affects your DWI arrest or charge.
- DWI Chemical Testing — If you’re suspected of driving while intoxicated, you may be asked to undergo breath, blood, or urine testing to determine your BAC. Learn about how these tests are conducted and the problems with each of these test methods that can affect your results.
- Roadside Field Sobriety Tests — Police conduct roadside field sobriety tests as a means of determining your impairment. However, these tests aren’t always reliable. Learn more about how field sobriety tests are conducted and how they can produce inaccurate results.
- Failing or Refusing a DWI Test — When you refuse a DWI test, you can be subject to penalties separate from an actual DWI conviction. Learn more about the consequences for refusing or failing a DWI test.
- Appealing an Administrative License Revocation — When you’re subjected to an administrative license revocation for refusing a DWI test, you may have options for appealing your revocation and getting your license back or getting limited driving privileges.
- Commercial Drivers and DWI — If you hold a commercial driver’s license, you may lose your CDL when you’re convicted of DWI. Learn how a Houston DWI conviction can affect your CDL and your career as a driver.
- DWI Defenses — Learn more about some of the common ways that an experienced Texas DWI attorney may fight your charge, including challenging the reliability or accuracy of your DWI test results or the validity of your traffic stop.
- License Suspension as a Criminal Penalty — Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license can have a devastating effect on your life and your career following a DWI conviction. Learn more about your options for getting your license back and why it’s important to have the help of a DWI attorney.
However, because each case is unique you should call the Law Offices of J.L. Pierce at (972) 423-0331, or use the online contact form, to schedule a consultation to discuss your individual case.